2016 Singletrack 6: Stage 3

Garneau Stage 3 in Cranbrook kicked off with yet another cloudless sky and looming high temperatures. The trail network at Cranbrook Community Forest created a lot of excitement with the racers and lived up to the hype.

The two looped trails totaling 46 km offered dusty fast singletrack with a variety of line choices. Hobgoblin’s views and the eerie quirkiness of Bonehead went head to head to get the most athlete post-race chatter!

With such a different style of riding today, it kept everyone on their toes. The field saw some big shifts in race standings and a phenomenal wrap up of Singletrack 3. Cranbrook may not be known wide and far for its riding, but today’s feedback from the field showed that this may be short lived.

Austria’s Manuel Weissenbacher (Craft & Rocky Mountain) won today’s stage in the Solo

Open Men category (also the General Classification leader) and explained, “Today was the tenth stage that I’ve ridden in Canada and it was my absolute favourite!” That compliment goes straight to our course markers and Wildhorse Cycling Club; good job guys!

We’re at the halfway mark for Singletrack 6 and who knows how the remaining days will unfold. Today we saw a random pop up whiskey station (thanks for the fun David and Josh!), tired legs, temperatures climbing and more new terrain to tackle. What will happen in the next three days? Keep connected to find out!

Singletrack 6:

Team Category Stage Winning Riders Overall Leaders
Open Men Ian Auld & Dustin Andrews Ian Auld & Dustin Andrews
Open Women  Natalie Koncz & Shannon Holden Natalie Koncz & Shannon Holden
Open Mixed Veronique Fortin & John Burns Veronique Fortin & John Burns
80+ Men Christoph Zimmermann &
Tobias Zaehringer
Christoph Zimmermann & Tobias Zaehringer
80+ Mixed Wendy Simms & Norm Thibault Wendy Simms & Norm Thibault
100+ Mixed Michael Boehm & Tony Routley Michael Boehm & Tony Routley
Solo Stage Winning Rider Overall Leader
Open Men Manuel Weissenbacher Manuel Weissenbacher
Open Women Sonya Looney Sonya Looney
40+ Men Justin Mark Justin Mark
40+ Women Trish Grajczk Trish Grajczk
50+ Men Geoff Clark Geoff Clark

Singletrack 3:

Solo Stage Winning Rider Overall Winner
Open Men Frederic Gombert Frederic Gombert
Open Women Alana Heise Alana Heise

Timed Descent:   

Category Riders
Men Dustin Andrews
Women Wendy Simms


Comments are closed.